Thanksgiving · Uncategorized

What I Am Thankful For – 2016

I write this from my in-law’s house; Thanksgiving dinner is long gone and the house is quiet.  My wife is sitting across from me on her laptop, and her parents have retired to their bedroom.  This is the perfect time for me to remember what I am thankful for this year:

  • I am thankful for my health, that I am still of sound mind and body, and that through 40 years, my life has been relatively free of tragedy and misfortune.
  • I am thankful for my wife, who through 9+ years of marriage, has stuck with me through thick and thin.  We laugh and cry together, and enjoy each other’s company even more than when we first met in 1996.  I’m looking forward to our future , watching Giants games and playing games together.
  • I am thankful for my family.  While we are a motley crew of crazy Filipinos, we still slay it with the karaoke microphone.
  • I am thankful for my wife’s family, who has accepted me as a son, despite my superior cribbage skills.
  • I am thankful for my current job, while very busy at this time of year, is more fun than should be legal.
  • I am thankful for my friends new and old, who have kept me centered throughout this year of transition.  I enjoy the long talks, even if they don’t happen as often as we like.
  • I am thankful for living in the United States of America.  While the last couple of months have been devising and surprising, it is still the best nation in the world.
  • Lastly, I am thankful for God, who despite my wavering faith, has never given up on me.
One thought on “What I Am Thankful For – 2016

Leave a Reply

